Life doesn't slow down...
| new | old | random | profile | links | cast | books | music |
| reviews | rings | email | notes | host | image | design |

Tales of A Socially Inept Individual
2005-11-16, 4:30 p.m.

Hrmm...Ok, sometimes life is a little surreal, as if you needed me to tell you that. I went to McDonald's today for a quick if unhealthy late lunch (around 3:30). I went through the driveway and ordered my double cheeseburger (no pickle, no onion - if you're going to get fatty food, why add veggies?) and small Dr. Pepper. The lady gave me my total and told me to pull forward to the first window. So I did. I wasn't really paying attention to who was actually at the window, so I handed the person my card as I said, "Hey! How are you doing?" Because I'm a friendly person and like to be polite to everyone. I hear the voice say, "Well, I'm doing great. How are you?" I look up as I'm saying "Fine" and realize that there's a guy there, not a woman. Ok, so he's got a slightly high-pitched voice. That's not what was so weird. He continues by saying, "So, have I met you before?" I'm like, "Well, probably, I eat here quite a bit." Sadly, that's true. Fast food, my greatest downfall (well, one of my many downfalls). I'm thinking that he must think I know him since the way I said hi might have made it seem that way (at least that's all I can come up with).
As soon as he's figured that I don't know who he is (he asked again), he was like, "So, you know what, we should hang out sometime. Would you want to?" I must have looked a little shocked or something because he quickly said, "Well, you know if you thought I was ok." I was having a little trouble wrapping my head around what was happening. This was just supposed to be a customary polite buyer/seller conversation before I pulled forward to get my food at the next window. Of course, whoever was in front of me was taking a crazy amount of time to get their food, so I couldn't go anywhere. Anyway, all I could think to say was, "Oh, you're fine." He asked, "What did you say?" I say, "Oh, I'm sure you're fine." Then he said, "I'm serious, we should get together sometime." All I could think was, "Is this a joke?" The drive-thru guy was fishing for my phone number? He really was. Weird. Maybe for all those hot girls out there it's a common occurence. Not for me. This would probably be the second or third time random guys have ever attempted to or actually asked me out. And this guy definitely was. He kept talking. I don't remember it all, except he said once, "I kind of have a wild personality." And then he asked again, "So, you wanna go out sometime?" I'm trying to figure out how to say no without making him feel bad (he looked so pathetic when he was asking if I would have a problem with him). After all, when you want to say no, nobody wants to hear your reasons for it all (I'm not really interesting in dating or going out with anybody until I finish school). The car in front of me FINALLY moved and it was time for me to pull forward. So, I just say, "Well, I'm really busy right now, but thank you!" Then I pull forward as he says, "Byeee!" I grab my food at the next window, mumble thanks, and drive off.
I'm never making eye contact with or conversating (it's a word) with anyone while making purchases ever again. Maybe that's harsh to some of you, but you don't understand. I'm queen of the socially inept individuals. My middle initial is A. Most think that's for Ann. It's not. A is for AWKWARD. Because that's what I am.
I'll say this, once I realized it wasn't a joke, it is kind of a nice ego boost. Even if I turned him down. I'm sure he was a nice guy.

|

Fun for the Ears: Il Divo - Il Divo
Indulgence for the Imagination: Inverloch
Amusement for All: Am I just an idiot or what?

| last | next |

What was that?
Updating like there's no tomorrow!
Holy Update Batman!
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year
After-Turkey Day Sale of Insanity Part Deux
After-Turkey Day Sale of Insanity Part 1
email:
be in the know - notifylist.com
read this!
kjgenius
number1asian
free2dream